How do you say goodbye to the City that raised you? Some people put heartfelt messages on Social Media, some have farewell parties. Well, why not a farewell blog post?

In its entirety, I have spent 18 years, and about 6 months living in the Circle City. Aside from my stint in Evansville some 3 years ago. Since 2014 I have had the pleasure of connecting with the local soccer community working on different media outlets such as the Inscriber Magazine based out in Cleveland, and the most notable outlet was with Midfield Press in 2015 and 2016.

Following the completion of the 2017 Season, I will be taking a pause in blogging, and any media activity to pursue a career in the United States Marine Corps. I am slotted to attend Recruit Training at Marine Corps Recruit Depot – San Diego on November 27th or even earlier if called. This also means I will be moving away from Indianapolis (and Indiana for the first time) I’ve never lived outside of Indiana. The farthest I’ve traveled is East Coast, and farthest west is Oklahoma City. It will definitely be a huge cultural change.

For the last 3 years, I have found my best work in blogging about Indy Eleven and doing podcasts with my partner in Media hysteria Colin Steitz with the Two Americans Podcast. There is so much to talk about when you think about the last 4 years at Indy Eleven. From the build-up years of 2014 and 2015 to the stellar 2016 Spring Season, The first time Indy beat the Cosmos at the Mike, The home semi-final against FC Edmonton, to the heartbreaking defeat in the Championship Final and the disappointing 2017 campaign there has been a lot to talk about when it comes to the Indy Eleven. If it isn’t about the Eleven there has always been the fantastic tifo displays put together by the Brickyard Battalion and don’t forget to mention the politics and mediocrity that is US Soccer.

But what has been most important to me has been the personal experiences that I have had when it comes to Indy Eleven, Indianapolis and beyond that.

First, I want to thank the front office personnel at Indy Eleven for giving me the opportunity to cover the team more specifically I want to send a shout out to John Koluder and Scott Stewart for making that possible. Also, Good luck at Louisville City Scott! I want to also give a shout out to the Media Corps of Indy Eleven (You know who you are).

Secondly, Jason Bruzzichesi I want to thank you for your guidance these last few years when it’s come to blogging, NASL DG, and joining the Marine Corps. You are one of the best friends one could have and I hope to finally get to share a beer with you when I find myself in North Carolina next summer. You are the embodiment of what makes a great Marine.

To my friends, I have made in my time in Brickyard Battalion I want to wish you all the best. Here are a few people I’d like to mention in that: (these are done by the date we’ve met)

Shane Linker, I want to personally thank you for being the first person that welcomed me into the deeper side of Indy Soccer in 2015 in that match against the Carolina Railhawks. I’m not sure what the result of that fixture was exactly but that match definitely sprung a friendship I definitely will cherish while I’m away, and when I’ll return.

Gus and Danielle Ochoa, You guys are the best, I am very thankful to have you guys around. Gus, it was a blast getting to jump in a few interviews with you and the radio show. I definitely will be stopping by the Ochoa household when I return on boot leave from the Marine Corps. I owe you both a lot. I wish you both the best.

Celeste Jameson, Michael Patrick, and Ben Voegele, I want to thank you guys for helping me develop my interest in all things Portland, Oregon. I hope I can find myself in Providence Park for a live Portland Timbers match sometime in the future. All 3 of you guys are good people. I wish you all the best.

Colin Steitz, My man. My brother. You sir (IMO) are the loudest supporter in the Brickyard Battalion. You are primed to be a fantastic Capo for the club and I hope you eventually get to be on the capo stand. Your analysis on all things UEFA (more specifically the Bundesliga) along with your wit when it came to the podcasts we have collaborated on in the recent past. I wish you all the best in your quest in the field of economics. You will do fantastic.

Trey Higdon, I want to thank you for being a fantastic (and frequent guest) on the 2AP. You have come a long way in your young career. From leading LFC Indy to be one of the best (if not the best) supporter’s group outside of Indy Eleven along with all of the media contributions you have made for Indy Eleven. I wish you the best of luck in your career.

Michelle Kennedy,  You are probably the MVP on this list. Issues aside. I have fulfilled a dream of finding someone that I can share my “passions” with. Whether it’s soccer or impromptu trips to 3 different states in a day to the good times we have in our personal time. I want to thank you for your patience and helping me become a better person in the time we have spent together. I don’t think you have seen this directly but I am definitely a very different person than I was when we first met. I’ve been told that a woman’s role in a relationship is to “Make a boy into a man” (That sounds really fucked up, I know) You have helped me when everyone else left the picture and stook with me through the storm and I’m happy to know that you will be there once I get through it all once I reach the fleet this time next summer. You have helped me mature. You also have helped me lost 35 pounds by pushing me to prepare for the USMC. You are my favorite person, and I hope that we can span our future in the Marine Corps. Your advice has helped me a lot when it has come to the preparation and you are an embodiment of the ethos of the Marine Corps.

Honorable Mentions:

David and Carla Rosenfield, I want to thank you guys for your contributions to the club and putting up with my bullshit when I went through my troll phase on social media. David I would like for to consider you for my 2nd or 3rd “Daddy” slot. (Jokes aside) You guys are fantastic and Indy needs more brass.

Brandi Frewer and David Rash, I know we may not know each other that well. I believe I met you guys through Shane at some point at the beginning of this season. You guys are good people. I want to stay connected to you guys here in the future and you are always welcome in the Ayers household.

Nipun Chopra, for asking all of the “tough questions” when it comes to the future of the Eleven.

Patrick Haggan, for the amount of trash talk we’ve shared on social media and the good conversations we’ve shared at matches.

There are many more stories I can share. Many more people to thank. These are a few impressionable ones that come to mind.

Aside from the Soccer World:

I want to reach out to those that have helped during the first two years of my Undergraduate Education such as my friends at the Indiana Medical History Museum, IUPUI, and Ivy Tech. (I will reach out to you personally)

The future is bright, a bit mysterious in some ways. But my second stint in Indianapolis has been not only enjoyable but a growing experience in many ways. Building up to independence and also learning more about the little things that make this city great. I may not be able to attend an Eleven match that much these next few years but I know that I will either be live streaming the match or be there in spirit.

 

 

Leave a comment